Inclusive Books for Inclusive Schools Week

Inclusive Books for your library!

Inclusive Schools Week is December 3rd – 7th, 2018 – it’s coming up quickly!  To help parents and schools prepare, we are highlighting inclusive books each day in the week leading up to Inclusive Schools Week.  Some schools will be willing to work with you to feature these books in your school libraries. If you are interested in additional titles, a quick google search and/or working with your local librarians is a good way to find more inclusive titles.  If you have an inclusive book that you’d like to share with us, please e-mail us at communications@fairfaxcountysepta.org or post a link directly on our Facebook group!

Inclusive Books List: Speech Disorders and AAC Use

For our first post, the focus is on inclusive books related to speech disorders or Alternative and Augmentative Communication (AAC) use.  We have used several sources to put together a list that includes books from preschool level through young adult level. (Please see the bottom of this post for sources used).

DISCLAIMER: Inclusion in these inclusive book lists does not imply Fairfax County SEPTA endorsement of any publisher, product, program or technique.

Title

Subject

Level / Description

Being Miss Nobody, by Tamsin Winter349d0dccdf40f65a36e9fc74b29810d4674c8060 Selective Mutism Ages 9+ -… I am Miss Nobody.

Rosalind hates her new secondary school. She’s the weird girl who doesn’t talk. The Mute-ant. And it’s easy to pick on someone who can’t fight back. So Rosalind starts a blog – Miss Nobody; a place to speak up, a place where she has a voice. But there’s a problem…

Is Miss Nobody becoming a bully herself?

Billy Gets Talking, by Mehreen Kakwan M.A., CCC-SLP41P+pJHAFLL._SY381_BO1,204,203,200_ Childhood Apraxia of Speech Preschool – Billy was a smart boy, but he felt frustrated since it was difficult to move his lips, jaw, and tongue, to clearly say the words in his head. This is a story about how Billy found his words with the help of his speech-language pathologist and his family. With hard work and each small step, Billy became happier and gained confidence when talking to his family and friends.
The BFG, Roald Dahl51a5bXfM29L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_ Aphasia (the Giant) Ages 8 – 12 years – The BFG is no ordinary bone-crunching giant. He is far too nice and jumbly. It’s lucky for Sophie that he is. Had she been carried off in the middle of the night by the Bloodbottler, or any of the other giants—rather than the BFG—she would have soon become breakfast. When Sophie hears that the giants are flush-bunking off to England to swollomp a few nice little chiddlers, she decides she must stop them once and for all. And the BFG is going to help her!
Maya’s Voice, Wen-Wen Cheng61kWDMxqCeL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_ Selective Mutism Preschool/Elementary – Maya is a bright-eyed, inquisitive little girl who loves to share her sweet voice. But when she starts school, she loses the confidence to use her voice and goes about her school day in silence. With time, patience, understanding, and love from all those around her, Maya discovers her sweet voice
The Mouth with a Mind of Its Own, Patricia L. Mervine, M.A., CCC-SLP51aVRR-TlCL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_ (1) Childhood Apraxia of Speech Elementary – Matthew has a problem. His mouth has a mind of its own. His brain thinks one thing, but his mouth says another. He can’t participate in class discussions. He can’t ask the other kids to play with him at recess. He can’t even say his own name! Luckily, he is referred to the school speech therapist, who helps him tame his wild mouth
My Fight / Your Fight, Ronda Rousey51xhxthRe+L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_ Childhood Apraxia of Speech Young Adult – Olympic gold medalist, UFC champion, and Hollywood Star—Ronda Rousey’s life demonstrates that even severe speech disorders don’t have to hold a person back. Though the disorder is never mentioned by name in the book, Rousey’s battle to overcome apraxia was just one of the many difficulties she faced on the road to success. Best suited for older teens.
Paperboy, Vince Vawter51GqM19tppL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_ Stuttering Ages 10+ – This Newbery Honor winner is about a boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.
—————————————————————–
Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.
A Quiet Kind of Thunder, Sara Barnard413l0x+0yUL._SX345_BO1,204,203,200_ Selective Mutism and Deafness Young Adult – A girl who can’t speak and a boy who can’t hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.
Sarah’s Surprise, Nan Holcombsarah's surprise Alternative & Augmentative Communication Device Elementary – Six-year-old Sarah, who is unable to talk, has used a picture board to communicate. She is now moving to an augmentative communication device.  As important as it is to communicate, Sarah wants to be able to really celebrate at birthday parties. That means sing! With the help of her speech therapist she gives everyone a surprise at her mother’s birthday party.
Something to Say About My Communication Device, Eden Molineux, MS, CCC-SLP51nBeCiOCtL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_ Alternative & Augmentative Communication Device Preschool / Elementary – Kate is friendly and loves to laugh. She’s also a little competitive. Kate explains how she uses a communication device to help her express herself.
Something to Say About My Speech, Eden Molineux, MS, CCC-SLP51r+fxDysuL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_ Preschool / Elementary – Macey is a lively little girl who loves adventure and taking the stage! She also happens to have difficulties with speech.  See what Macey has to say about her experiences communicating, ways to help make interactions more successful, and how she enjoys her childhood in the same way her friends do.
Something to Say About Stuttering, Eden Molineux, MS, CCC-SLP51UqxFp3VRL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_ Stuttering Preschool / Elementary – Alex loves dirt biking, soccer, and helping his mom with his little sister. He also happens to stutter. Alex shares what it is like for him when he stutters, as well as ways to help make communication a little easier.

This is just a place to start. Check with your school’s librarian or related service providers to see if they have any suggestions for you and your child as well!

Sources and Additional Resources:

0 comments on “Inclusive Books for Inclusive Schools Week

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: